Search Programs
and Institutions
Search Programs
and Institutions

ACGME to Begin Accreditation of Obstetrics and Gynecology Fellowships

CHICAGO, July 27, 2015– The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG), have finalized terms of an agreement in which the ACGME will transition accreditation activities of the current ABOG fellowships in gynecologic oncology (GYN ONC), maternal-fetal medicine (MFM), and reproductive endocrinology and infertility (REI), likely beginning in academic year 2016-2017. After considerable discussion the two entities have committed to working together on this transition to help ensure the quality and safety of health care delivery.

“Having a single accreditor for residencies and fellowships will allow for consistency and continuity,” says Dr. John Potts, ACGME senior vice president, Surgical Accreditation. This continuity is achieved by having residents pass through residencies and fellowships that follow a single set of guiding principles in the form of structured and categorized common program requirements incorporating the six core competencies and the Milestones, as well as structured program assessment.

During the evolution to the ACGME fellowship accreditation process, ABOG will work alongside the ACGME in an advisory role, as well as in a developmental capacity, ensuring that the final result will encapsulate and maintain the essence, historical value, and original intention of the fellowships.

“Together, the ACGME and ABOG will craft fellowship program requirements that speak to the current and future needs of the specialties,” says ABOG Executive Director Dr. Larry Gilstrap.

To achieve ACGME accreditation, programs must complete an application, which may be followed by a site visit. The application and site visit report are then considered by the Review Committee and awarded a status of either Initial Accreditation or Accreditation Withheld.

ABOG will continue to award Board certification and conduct Maintenance of Certification processes.


ABO+G Logo


ACGME – Mary Joyce Turner

ABOG – Larry Gilstrap, MD


About ABOG

The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology is an independent, non-profit organization that certifies obstetricians and gynecologists in the United States.

Founded in 1927, the ABOG is one of the four founding members of the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Council for
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
  • Suite 2000
    401 North Michigan Avenue
    Chicago, IL 60611
  • Telephone: 312.755.5000
    Facsimile: 312.755.7498
  • Data Systems Technical Support: 312.755.7474
  • Browser Compatibility
© 2000-2017 ACGME CMS Login