Search Programs
and Institutions
Search Programs
and Institutions
March 2, 2018

2018 ACGME and ACGME International Awards

Each year, the Annual Educational Conference is the venue for great community gathering, information and idea sharing, networking, inspiration, and more. It’s also where we celebrate the ACGME – and now ACGME International – awardees.

The ACGME Awards program recognizes the dedicated individuals the GME community is fortunate enough to count among its ranks, honoring DIOs, program directors, coordinators, residents, and fellows. The enormous talents and commitment they demonstrate every day across roles and functions in our GME institutions and programs is beyond impressive. They truly represent the ACGME mission to improve health care and population health, as well as the humanity inherent to those called to work within the medical field.

This year marked an exciting transition, too, as we presented the first ever awards for ACGME International. Now in its ninth year, ACGME International has grown impressively and helped build connections across the globe. The ACGME-I will now annually honor international colleagues making important changes and contributions to international GME, and were pleased to include among this year’s honorees the inaugural recipients of the ACGME International Physician and Staff Awards.

The 2018 ACGME Award Recipients are:

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award (honoring designated institutional officials)
Jerri Curtis, MD, National Capital Consortium
Karen E. Heiser, PhD, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Tsveti Markova, MD, FAAFP, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award (honoring program directors)
Saadia Akhtar, MD, Emergency Medicine, Mount Sinai Beth Israel/Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
John Del Valle, MD, AGAF, FACP, Internal Medicine, University of Michigan
Benjamin R. Doolittle, MD, MDiv, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics, Yale University
Kimberly D. Manning, MD, Transitional Year, Emory University School of Medicine
Vishad Nabili, MD, FACS, Otolaryngology, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Christopher J. Nagy, MD, Anesthesiology, San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium
Jerry Rushton, MD, MPH, Pediatrics, Indiana University School of Medicine
Suzanne Woods, MD, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics, Duke University Hospital
Jamshid Shirani, MD, Cardiovascular Diseases, St. Luke’s University Health Network

David C. Leach Award (honoring residents and fellows)
Jonathan Lim, MD, Internal Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
Brett W. Sadowski, MD, Internal Medicine, National Capital Consortium
Srilakshmi Vallabhaneni, MD, Internal Medicine, Medstar Harbor Hospital
Stella K. Yoo, MD, Radiation Oncology, LAC+USC Medical Center

GME Institutional Coordinator Award
Michelle Valdez, MA, Naval Medical Center

GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award
Denise M. Alton, Pediatrics, University of Michigan
Melissa Beckman, Surgery, University at Buffalo School of Medicine
Linda Howell, Pulmonary and Critical Care, Emory University School of Medicine
Theresa Kiefer, Pediatrics, National Capital Consortium at Walter Reed National Medical Center
Denise Lesniak, MA, Emergency Medicine, MetroHealth Medical Center
Lisa M. Miller, Internal Medicine, University of Michigan

The Inaugural ACGME International Award Recipients are:

International Award: Physician
Dr. Abdullatif Alkhal, DIO, Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar, UAE

International Award: Staff
Ms. Jillian Ang Andrada, Institutional Coordinator for GME Activities, SingHealth, Singapore

Congratulations to all of these outstanding individuals!

The ACGME Awards Program is currently accepting nominations for the 2019 awards, through March 30, 2018. Learn more at

The ACGME International Awards Program is also accepting nominations for the 2019 awards, through June 1, 2018. Learn more at

Latest Posts
Council for
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
  • Suite 2000
    401 North Michigan Avenue
    Chicago, IL 60611
  • Telephone: 312.755.5000
    Facsimile: 312.755.7498
  • Data Systems Technical Support: 312.755.7474
  • Browser Compatibility
© 2000-2019 ACGME Site Admin Login