David C. Leach Award



In honor of former ACGME Executive Director David C. Leach, MD (1997-2007) and his contributions to resident education and well being, the ACGME created this award in 2008. This award is unique in that it acknowledges and honors residents, fellows, and resident/fellow teams and their contributions to graduate medical education. The ACGME congratulates the 2017 recipients of the David C. Leach, MD Award.



Aalap C. Shah, MD

<u>Team members</u>: Meghan Flanagan, MD, MPH; Katy Flynn-O'Brien, MD, MPH; Andrew Herstein, MD; Barbara DeWitt; Elizabeth Visco Anesthesiology University of Washington Seattle, WA

About the project:

"It is well recognized that handoffs between healthcare providers and/or teams are vulnerable to inadvertent omission or inaccurate transmission of critical information that can result in medical errors and harm to patients. In response to this situation, we [conducted] a quality improvement project

focused on increasing the accuracy and quality of information transfer through standardization of the post-operative handoff process at Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, WA.

'Our project improved patient care by increasing surgeon participation in the handoff process, we established electronic documentation of the handoff/transfer-of-care within the patient electronic health record. Modifications since initial conception include an Extubation Risk Assessment and automatically generated STOP-BANG score to help predict airway or respiratory difficulties for inpatients after surgery."