Search Programs
and Institutions
Search Programs
and Institutions

Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction

Reinvigorating the Patient-Physician Relationship

We are not currently accepting applications for this award.

Untitled Document

The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) and the ACGME annually present the Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction, an award developed to enhance the ability of young physicians to conduct the essential elements of the patient-physician relationship. Junior faculty members in internal medicine or internal medicine subspecialties with a university appointment are invited apply with innovative programs they've designed to enhance the fundamental elements of clinical care—the clinical history, physical examination, and clinical reasoning—through educational innovation.

“After reviewing the description, [I] thought this would support both my interest in trainee education and professional development as a young faculty member…[I was impressed by the] high quality and reputation of the sponsors (NYAM and ACGME)… [and I] had a project in mind that I was hopeful to pursue that aligned well with this fellowship.”
Bethany Brisbin Lockwood, MD, 2018-2020 Barondess Fellow


Applications are invited from a medical school, department of medicine, and medical school-affiliated teaching hospitals with an approved internal medicine residency program in the United States. Institutions currently receiving a Barondess Fellowship are not eligible to apply for this round of funding. Candidates should have exemplary clinical skills and a commitment to innovative teaching and training focused on the development of excellence in the clinical transaction, the elements of the patient-physician relationship. The Fellowship is for junior faculty members with a regular university/faculty appointment (e.g., assistant professors), with key responsibilities for developing, directing, and teaching in a robust, innovative clinical training program. Clinical fellows or senior residents in their last year of training may apply, but must have a junior faculty position/university appointment at the start of the Fellowship funding period.

Additional Information

Direct all questions to Donna Fingerhut: or 212.419.3645

2019 Award Recipient
Chelsea Hook Chang, MD
Chelsea Hook Chang, MD
2019 Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellow

Past Fellows

Bethany Joy Brisbin, MD
Bethany Joy Brisbin, MD
2018 Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellow
Reza Sedighi Manesh, MD
Reza Sedighi Manesh, MD
2017 Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellow
The Awards
Council for
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
  • Suite 2000
    401 North Michigan Avenue
    Chicago, IL 60611
  • Telephone: 312.755.5000
    Facsimile: 312.755.7498
  • Data Systems Technical Support: 312.755.7474
  • Browser Compatibility
© 2000-2019 ACGME Site Admin Login