The ACGME recognizes notable designated institutional officials, program directors, coordinators, and residents and fellows for their outstanding work and contributions to graduate medical education through its Awards Program.


This award recognizes an individual that is dedicated to graduate medical education and has made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of residency education and ACGME accreditation activities.

This award recognizes ACGME-accredited Sponsoring Institutions and programs and specialty organizations working to diversify the underrepresented physician workforce and create inclusive workplaces that foster humane, civil, and equitable environments.

This award recognizes residents and fellows who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs, advanced humanism in medicine, and increased efficiency and emphasis on educational outcomes.

This award recognizes program coordinators who have an in-depth understanding of the accreditation process, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and projects to improve residency programs. Effective March 2019, the GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award is now the Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award.

This award recognizes an institutional coordinator that demonstrates in-depth knowledge of graduate medical education and the process for institutional review. This person skillfully manages the multiple roles of administrator, counselor, enforcer, coordinator, organizer, and scheduler.

This award, which will be given for the first time in 2024, recognizes residents and fellows who have worked to implement strategies to improve the understanding of and show demonstrable improvement in patient safety in their Sponsoring Institution or residency/fellowship program.

This award recognizes designated institutional officials who have demonstrated strong leadership and astute resource management and have encouraged innovation and improvement in residency programs and their Sponsoring Institutions.

This award recognizes program directors who have fostered innovation and improvement in their residency programs and served as exemplary role models for residents.

The ACGME, in partnership with other notable organizations, is proud to honor exceptional work in graduate medical education through joint awards.