The Council of Public Members includes the Public Directors from the ACGME Board of Directors, as well as the public members who sit on each of the ACGME's Review and Recognition Committees.

Council of Public Members Purpose Statement

With the goal of increasing public trust in physician residency and fellowship education to promote high quality medical care for all, the purposes of the Council are to:

  • Advise the Board of Directors from the public perspective, including on strategic and accreditation issues;
  • Bring the voice of the public and patients to the ACGME;
  • Engage with the public and patient population, as recommended by the ACGME; and
  • Enhance the effectiveness of the public members in their roles as members of the Review Committees, the Board of Directors, and other committees and task forces.

Review Committee Members

ACGME RC Members listed below are active between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024.
Judith S. Shaw, EdD, MPH, RN, FAAP
Council Chair
Adam J. Barefoot, DMD, MPH
Preventive Medicine
Eric M. Brown, PhD, LPC
Transitional Year
Kyle D. Campbell, FACHE
Plastic Surgery
Ken R. Coelho, DHSc, MSc, FRSPH
Osteopathic Recognition
Danita Collins, MBA, FACHE
Colon and Rectal Surgery
Maria Condus, PhD
Monica Douglas, MBA, MPH
Tracee Hall, MPH
Toby Gordon, ScD
R. Scott Huber
Orthopaedic Surgery
Kathy A. Kelly, MA, MS
Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine
Janice Lynn Kishner, RN, MSN, MBA, FACHE
Radiation Oncology
Kenneth E. Korber, PA, MHPE, ASH-CHC, DFAAPA
Wendy S. Love, MBA
Stephanie Meyer, COL, SP, Dr.PH, MS, RD, LD, CHES
Diane Osterhaus Neefe, MS, EdD
Allergy and Immunology
Katie O. Orrico, Esq.
Neurological Surgery
Kimberly Richardson, MA
Emergency Medicine
Elizabeth H. Howlett, MBA
Obstetrics and Gynecology
David L. Rodgers, EdD, EMT-P, NRP, FAHA
Rabbi Seymour Rosenbloom
Internal Medicine
David A. Rubenstein, FACHE, Major General, USA, Retired
Kathryn Rugen, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Mark D. Stewart, MPH
Family Medicine
Mark Swofford, PhD, MHA, FACHE
Thoracic Surgery
Karen Tillotson, DHSc
Frances W. van Beek, MSHA, MBA
Medical Genetics and Genomics
Thomas S. Worsley, MPA, MHA
Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Jaime Warren, MBA
Nuclear Medicine
Mark A. Zunk, RN, MS