The ACGME, in partnership with other notable organizations, is proud to honor exceptional work in graduate medical education through the following jointly-given awards.

DeWitt C. Baldwin, Jr. Award

The ACGME and Arnold P. Gold Foundation DeWitt C. Baldwin, Jr. Award recognizes institutions with accredited residency/fellowship programs that are exemplary in fostering a respectful, supportive environment for medical education and the delivery of patient care, which leads to the personal and professional development of learners.

Barondess Fellowship

The New York Academy of Medicine, in collaboration with the ACGME, awards the Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction, which supports junior faculty members in internal medicine with a commitment to develop a program that enhances this fundamental element of clinical care through education innovation.

The clinical transaction consists of three core skills: obtaining a comprehensive and accurate clinical history; performing a thorough and accurate physical examination; and engaging in a rigorous process of clinical reasoning from the data acquired through these techniques.