2020 ACGME Award Recipients Announced

January 21, 2020

The ACGME is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s awards, who will be honored during the 2020 Annual Educational Conference being held February 27-29, 2020 at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina and the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotels in San Diego, California.

John C. Gienapp Award
 (awarded to a notable individual for exemplary contributions to graduate medical education)

Debra F. Weinstein, MD
Partners HealthCare, Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology; Boston, Massachusetts

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award
(awarded to designated institutional officials)

  1. Karen E. Broquet, MD, MHPE; Southern Illinois University School of Medicine; Springfield, Illinois
  2. John Patrick T. Co, MD, MPH; Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Massachusetts General Hospital; Boston, Massachusetts

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award
(awarded to program directors)

  1. Robyn J. Blair, MD, FAAP; Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University; Stony Brook, New York; Pediatrics
  2. Preston Howard Blomquist, MD; The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Dallas, Texas; Ophthalmology 
  3. Keith A. Delman, MD, FACS; Emory University School of Medicine; Atlanta, Georgia; Surgery
  4. Fiona E. Gallahue, MD, FACEP; The University of Washington; Seattle, Washington; Emergency Medicine
  5. Donald L. Gilbert, MD, MS; Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; Cincinnati, Ohio; Pediatric Neurology
  6. Gabriella G. Gosman, MD; UPMC Medical Education; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Obstetrics and Gynecology
  7. Suzanne McLaughlin, MD, MSc; Alpert Medical School of Brown University; Providence, Rhode Island; Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
  8. Abby L. Spencer, MD, MS, FACP; Cleveland Clinic; Cleveland, Ohio; Internal Medicine
  9. Lisa L. Willett, MD, MACM; University of Alabama at Birmingham; Birmingham, Alabama; Internal Medicine
  10. Edwin L. Zalneraitis, MD; University of Connecticut School of Medicine Connecticut Children’s; Hartford, Connecticut; Pediatrics

David C. Leach Award
(awarded to residents, fellows, or resident/fellow teams)

  1. Anne R. Hart, MD; Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, New York; Psychiatry
    Team members: Asher Simon, MD; Jordyn Feingold, MAPP, MD candidate
  2. Daniel E. Leifer, MD; University of Washington; Seattle, Washington; Dermatology
  3. Mariam Anwar Molani, DO, MBA; University of Nebraska Medical Center; Omaha; Nebraska; Pathology
  4. David A. Valentine, MD; New York University School of Medicine; New York, New York; Neurology
    Team members: Alexander Allen, MD; Raymond Mirasol, MD; Arielle Kurzweil, MD; Eridiz Diaz; Laura Balcer, MD; Steven Galetta, MD
  5. Marjon Vatanchi, MD; State University of New York Downstate Medical Center; Brooklyn, New York; Dermatology 
  6. Andrew  C. Vivas, MD; University of South Florida; Tampa, Florida; Neurological Surgery

GME Institutional Coordinator Excellence Award

Taiwana W. Mearidy, MBA; Emory University School of Medicine; Atlanta, Georgia

Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award

  1. Diana Lynn Brucha, C-TAGME; UPMC Medical Education; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Obstetrics and Gynecology
  2. Jennifer M. Shipley; University of Florida; Gainesville, Florida; Neurology
  3. Kimberly S. Brown, C-TAGME; Duke University Hospital; Durham, North Carolina; Emergency Medicine
  4. Ljiljana Popovic; Boston University Medical Center; Boston, Massachusetts; Neurology 
  5. Kareen E. Chin, MBA, C-TAGME; MD Anderson Cancer Center; Houston, Texas; Selective Surgical and Subspecialty Pathology, Dermatopathology, Cytopathology