February 14, 2019

ACGME and ACGME-I Awards Recognize the Best of GME

The ACGME Annual Educational Conference is the largest gathering of the worldwide graduate medical education community, and offers a wide variety of venues and occasions for networking, brainstorming, learning, sharing, and more. In addition to the educational sessions, exhibits, posters, and meet-ups, the conference offers a wonderful opportunity for the GME community at large to publicly recognize and celebrate the recipients of the year’s ACGME and ACGME International Award honorees.

The ACGME Awards program honors designated institutional officials (DIOs), program directors, coordinators, residents, and fellows, nominated by their peers and colleagues, who represent the best of GME. The depth of talent and commitment of these remarkable individuals truly epitomizes the ACGME’s mission to improve health care and population health, as well as the humanity inherent to those called to work in the medical field.

ACGME International will present its second year of awards at the 2019 Annual Educational Conference, honoring two international colleagues making important changes and contributions to international GME and supporting their institutions’ and countries’ transitions to ACGME-I accreditation.

The 2019 ACGME Award recipients are:
John C. Gienapp Award (honoring a notable individual for exemplary contributions to GME)
Carol Ann Bernstein, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
NYU Langone Health
New York, New York

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award (honoring DIOs)
Elias I. Traboulsi, MD, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio
Ronald G. Amedee, MD, Ochsner Clinic Foundation, New Orleans, Louisiana
Nedd I. Brown, EdD, University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award (honoring program directors)
David Della-Giustina, MD, FACEP, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut (Emergency Medicine)
Sima Desai, MD, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon (Internal Medicine)
Douglas Fredrick, MD, Stanford Health Care, Palo Alto, California (Ophthalmology)
Lyell K. Jones Jr., MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota (Neurology)
Sandra A. Moutsios, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Nashville, Tennessee (Internal Medicine and Pediatrics)
Brett W. Robbins, MD, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York (Internal Medicine and Pediatrics)
Bradford G. Scott, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas (Surgery)
Douglas S. Smink, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts (Surgery)
Cindy Wigg, MD, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas (Psychiatry) 

David C. Leach Award (honoring residents, fellows or resident/fellow teams)
Eric J. Chow, MD, MPH, Brown University/Rhode Island Hospital – Lifespan, Providence, Rhode Island (Internal Medicine and
Sara Hogan, MD, MHS, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio (Dermatology)
Shawna R. Kleban, MD, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Medicine, Las Vegas, Nevada (Plastic Surgery)
Jason Lai, MD, University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics, Madison, Wisconsin (Emergency Medicine)
Debraj Mukherjee, MD, MPH, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, California (Neurological Surgery)
Laura C. Page, MD, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina (Pediatric Endocrinology)

GME Institutional Coordinator Excellence Award
Sharon Wilson, MS
William Beaumont Hospital
Royal Oak, Michigan

GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award
Jennifer Cardone, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York (Anesthesiology)
Kelli A. Corning, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, Washington (Internal Medicine)
Diane Kovacev, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts (Dermatology)
Amy Mills, C-TAGME, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York (Surgery)
Martina DiNapoli, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts (Obstetrics and Gynecology)

The 2019 ACGME International Award recipients are:
International Award: Physician
Kamal Badr, MD, American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

International Award: Staff
Ms. Rosemary V. Rodanilla, Oman Medical Specialty Board, Oman

Joint Awards
The ACGME presents two awards in partnership with other notable organizations, and these awardees will be announced and honored at the 2019 Annual Educational Conference as well. The ACGME and DeWitt C. Baldwin Jr. Award recognizes institutions that are exemplary in fostering a respectful, supportive environment for medical education and the delivery of patient care, leading to the personal and professional development of learners.

The New York Academy of Medicine, in collaboration with the ACGME, awards the Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in the Clinical Transaction, which supports junior faculty members in internal medicine with a commitment to develop a program that enhances this fundamental element of clinical care through education innovation.

Congratulations to all of these outstanding individuals!

The ACGME is currently accepting nominations for the 2020 awards, through March 29, 2019. Learn more at http://www.acgme.org/What-We-Do/Initiatives/Awards.